Since 1973, Archmere has conferred the “Alumnus/Alumnae of the Year” award to an outstanding alumnus or alumnae who significantly enhanced the quality of life in their families and communities, and/or made a positive impact on others by their philanthropic spirit. The award has been given at Commencement Exercises at the end of each school year.

The Norbert Award honors those who best embody the Archmere Academy mission and have demonstrated exemplary achievements through professional distinction, service to others, or service to the Archmere community.
Announcing the 2016 honorees of the Norbert Award of Archmere Academy:
Mr. Francis J. Filliben ‘46
A 1950 graduate of LaSalle College, Francis Filliben served as an Advertising & Marketing executive for DuPont in Wilmington for 36 years. Respected in his industry, Mr. Filliben served as President of the Advertising Club of Delaware and Chairman of the Advertising & Communications Awards for the State of Delaware. A longstanding volunteer to his alma mater, Francis previously served as President of the Archmere Alumni Association and was instrumental in the legendary phone-a-thons, and alumni retreat programs. Francis has also been active in his St. Mary Magdalen parish community serving on the first ever Parish Council as well as a Eucharistic Minister. Francis is known around Wilmington for his philanthropic commitment, volunteering with the Tobin Foundation for the Visually Impaired, Voices of Caring, the annual Delaware Saengerbund, and numerous Little League groups. Married to Joan for 63 years, Francis and Joan have 5 children and 7 grandchildren. 

The Honorable Joseph R. “Beau” Biden, III ’87

Beau Biden began his life of service as an prosecutor in the US Attorney’s Office in Philadelphia, before being elected as the Attorney General of Delaware in 2006. During his time in office, Beau was passionate about protecting the most vulnerable among us - especially children who have fallen victim to abuse or neglect. Beau was a Major in the Delaware Army National Guard, served a tour of duty in Iraq and was awarded the Bronze Star. He died of brain cancer on May 30, 2015. The Beau Biden Foundation for the Protection of Children was created in 2015 to continue his life’s work: ensuring that all children are free from the threat of abuse.

Dr. Katherine A. Sahm ’90

Dr. Katherine Sahm, a Delaware native, is board certified in General Surgery. A Bachelor of Science degree in Biology was completed at Lafayette College in Easton Pennsylvania. She serves in the US Army Reserves as a Lieutenant Colonel and completed two tours in Iraq in 2008-2009, and 2011. Advanced Surgical Associates is Dr. Sahm’s private practice located in North Wilmington where she provides specialized services in: Robotic surgery, advanced laparoscopic procedures, endoscopy, breast, cancer, and wound care. 

Mr. David Barnard

A graduate of St. Joseph’s College, Mr. David Barnard began his affiliation with the Norbertine Community as a teacher at Bishop Neumann High School in Philadelphia. In 1967, David was hired by Headmaster Fr. Diny as a Teacher of English at Archmere Academy and was promoted to the Director of Studies in 1976. From 1977 to 1983 David served as the Assistant Principal in charge of Academics working closely with Archmere’s Principal at that time, Fr. Bozzelli.  During those years, Mr. Barnard also served as Chair of the English Department and Director of Admissions. In these various capacities, Mr. Barnard was involved with recruiting and retaining students, and assisting faculty in academic matters while also finalizing the semester schedules…by hand.  With Fr. McLaughlin being named Headmaster in 1983, David became Dean of Academic Affairs, the role for which he is most recognized through his Archmere career.  An English teacher at heart, he taught Creative Writing throughout his career and assisted with Tapestry and The Green Arch. David retired from Archmere in 2000 after 37 years of service to the Academy.

The awards will be conferred at a reception on Thursday October 6th, 2016

Alumnus of the Year Award Recipients

1973     Joseph R. Biden ’61
1974     Msgr. Paul J. Taggart ’36
1975     Robert Kelly ’36
1976     James P. Collins ’37
1977     John J. Kelly ’46
1978     Vincent J. Filliben ’47
1979     James M. Mulligan ’50
1980     Henri F. Wendel ’43
1981     Richard T. Joyce ’49
1982     Gerard Garey ’36
1983     Daniel A. Durkin ’60
1984     Clayford T. Grimm ’43
1985     Clifford Anzilotti ’59
1986     William DiNardo ’52
1987     Joseph J. Davalos ’59
1988     Michael E. Harkins ’59
1989     John V. Flynn ’60
1990     Thomas G. Lewis III ’62
1991     James V. Healy ’49
1992     William F. Githens ’64
1993     Joseph P. Melloy ’52
1994     Thomas H. Anderson III ’60
1995     Stuart H. L. Degginger ’39
1996     Leonard Quill ’49
1997     Msgr. John H. Dewson ’39
1998     John J. Haley ’47
1999     Joseph J. Longobardi ’48
2000     Arthur G. Connolly ’55
2001     Earl C. Francis ’56
2002     Paul E. DiSabatino ’47
2003     Michael Hare ’79
2004     Rev. Timothy F. Mullen, O.Praem. ’65
2005     Dr. Kert F. Anzilotti ’61
2006     The Honorable Joseph G. DiPinto ’50
2007     Carl S. Campion ’76
2008     John G. (Jerry) Ambrogi ’76
2009     Anthony A. Latini, Jr. ’82
2010     Tony Flynn ’69
2011     Kathryn Cunningham Hall ’04
2012     Louis D’Angelo ’64
2013     Carol Reardon Thomson ’79
2014     Robert Shields ’60
2015     Donn Devine ’46